WIAW: Steak Gyros & Butternut Squash Ravioli with Spinach Pesto (Plated)

I’m not a good cook. I’m not even much of a baker. I do both to survive – the body needs food. Most of my “cooking” is simply putting things together without cooking it. This might be wraps, salads, or something simple.

But I love a good cooking show, especially “MasterChef” and “The Taste.” Gabe is so hot.

Lots of recipes require things I would have to buy solely for the one meal so when I got a sweet deal on Plated meals, I went for it.

I picked steak gyros. It came with everything except the salt and pepper.

I have no knife skills…

Non-fat Greek yogurt and cukes

Dill, red onions, and lemon juice

So delicious.

…and surprisingly easy.

The other meal I picked: butternut squash with spinach pesto.

This meal required my toaster oven, my blender, and a few pans. Too much for a regular evening meal.

Overall verdict

Pros:

  • Comes with everything but salt and pepper. May require some other items like olive oil.
  • Everything is labeled in case you can’t tell the difference between dill and basil.
  • Packed with ice to keep cold. I came home later and it was still cold.
  • Photo directions and gorgeous meals! Highly important.

Cons:

  • Requires too many pots and pans, bowls, a toaster oven, blender, etc.
  • Lots of clean-up.
  • Expensive. Meals run about $12 per plate with a minimum of 2 plates each meal, a minimum of 4 plates to order and then there’s shipping.

*Although I’m not sure if this is normal since I don’t really “cook” meals on a regular basis.

TRY OUT PLATED and let me know how it goes!

This has inspired me to cook more and made me more confident in my cooking. Each night, it took me about an hour to make dinner. I hear that’s normal.

How long does it take you to cook dinner on a weeknight?

5 thoughts on “WIAW: Steak Gyros & Butternut Squash Ravioli with Spinach Pesto (Plated)

  1. Mmmm steak gyros! I am so going to make these. Thanks for sharing! It takes me 20-45 minutes to cook dinner if I haven’t prepped anything and then there’s the clean up. Yikes! it’s worth it to eat well though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

