I don’t have goals [yet]. (Part 1)

I don’t have goals.

had goals, like reaching 135 pounds and when I reached that years ago, I kept going and hit almost 110 pounds. That did not go well and here I am at 135 again. It was a struggle to let go of a weight loss goal. A weight loss goal sets me up for depression.

In the back of my head, I want to lose 10 pounds. Oh yes, those 10 pounds every woman wants to lose. Actually 10 pounds or 125 pounds is where I was before I started working out 5-7 hours a day and not eating (600-1000 calories per day).

So I don’t have a weight loss goal.

I don’t have a body fat goal. I don’t have a strength goal. I don’t have a yoga goal. And I definitely don’t have some goal to run a half or full marathon. I don’t know what my body fat is. That would depress me too. I’ve had strength and yoga goals like increasing weights or getting into a pose. I even ran a 5K in 27 minutes then I realized I don’t like running.

Right now, I workout because it’s a habit. I workout because I want to move around and because I can abet slowly when I’m sick.

I don’t have eating goals. I don’t have goals for drinking water. I eat pretty well every day. I drink tons of water.

When I let go of the “goals,” I live freely and I live a life of balance. I can go out again. I can focus on work.

But there’s a problem with not having goals at all. I don’t know where I’m going.

Someone asked me where I see myself in 10 years and I hardly had an answer. The only thing I could say was I want to go back to a high school.

Yes, that’s it. How big is my want? How great is the fire?

My answer:

  • I’m not excited about going back to work next week. I have a lot to do, but even worse, I am not entirely thrilled about teaching my kids. I am usually excited to get back to my kids…
  • Once a week I come home and go to sleep before 7 PM. It’s not just a nap – I sleep through the whole night!
  • Over the last 3 months, I’ve gotten sick 3 times. I had a regular cold, tension headaches that lasted a whole week, and I’m at the end of a week and a half cold. Due to this month alone, my hormones were thrown off!

Do I want this for even another year? No.

So what must I do?

  • I signed up to finish my remaining tests to be highly qualified in English. I can take one at a time, the first at the end of January.
  • Take those last 2 classes to be get my Master’s in Special Ed [to get paid more] starting September 2015.
  • Continue working hard and doing more at my current job.
  • Apply and get a job at a high school that it’s in my old district or a comparable district. Pray that the staff is just as great.

And here’s a kicker: I jumped on board with my friend Denise to work in the finance/insurance business. It’s a good group of people and a little side job.

Hey, maybe this isn’t such a big deal since most people make their life decisions at 29.

Stay tuned for part 2, where I address non-career goals.

2 thoughts on “I don’t have goals [yet]. (Part 1)

  1. I hear you, Julie! I struggle with sometimes wanting to take a break and other times feeling like I’m not getting anywhere because I don’t have set goals in mind. Still trying to figure out what my next BIG goal is, but for now, I’m happy to go with the little ones.

  2. I can totally relate to you about the job Julie. I was totally feeling that way about the job I just left. I didn’t dreading going to work each day and couldn’t wait for the day to be over. It was the first time since becoming a nurse that I had felt like that. I knew I needed to make a change. Although I am now in a new city and country and with tons of unknowns and tons to learn. I am so excited about my new job. It has confirmed to me that it was the right decision to make. All the best with your courses and the new job!

Leave a Reply

