Middle School Reality

Hey everyone! Just a quick update post-drinks with some friends.

Today was the end of Day 3 at the new school and boy, it’s nothing like I’ve ever experienced!

I’ve stayed at work till 6 and yesterday I was there till 8. I did come home early today. Since I came in later, I’m chasing my tail and ready just 5 minutes before each class.

  • All my students are Latino.
  • This is one of the toughest schools in America. Not kidding – it’s on a list!
  • I have up to 24 students per class. I’m used to no more than 12 special ed students.
  • We only did 1/4 of what I wanted to accomplish in class.
  • I’ve handed out quite a few detentions and made students stay after school.
  • I also wrote positive and negative referrals and sent students to the Vice Principal.
  • I still spend time on the phone with parents but my words include “(child name)” “almuerzo conmigo” “lunes.”
  • The staff is superb. Everyone is helpful.
  • If you’re going to teach middle school, do 6th grade!
  • I don’t know what to do about the 7th graders.
  • My 8th graders actually learned something today. Partly because I have them 6th period and can threaten them with having to stay after school.

Middle school special ed is hard.

When I came home from work today, I took a nap. My dream almost made me cry – I was back at my old school. *One of the teachers worked at my old school and said he hated it. “These kids need us.”

I miss my kids, but I know I will start liking these guys at some point.

I’m not set on wanting them to like me and for now, I don’t even have a chance to get to know them because of all the behavioral problems.

There are some sweet kids like the one at the end of the day who saw me holding a ton of notebooks and brought me the basket. That’s when I realize it might be worth it.

Let’s be real, the pay is worth it and I’ll come out stronger than I ever was.

In other news, I haven’t made it to yoga in 4 days and I haven’t eaten very much at all, except for today’s lunch.

One thought on “Middle School Reality

  1. Wow girl, I always say this but Teachers are such amazing people. It’s no small feat and you seem to know that, keep on keepin’ on like you said you will come out stronger on the other side you just have to stay in the game. I love the update look forward to seeing how the rest of the year goes!

Leave a Reply

