MIMM: Almost My Birthday L.A. (& SoCal) Weekend

Guys, I never thought I would say this, but I ate so much sushi and sashimi that I won’t be craving anymore for at least a few days. Nor will I need any frozen yogurt either…

To top it off, I drank a glass of champagne/beer/fancy cocktails, painted a picture/my walls/fingernails, and spent time with some family/good friends/new friends.

The only thing missing is some girl time with Allison, BFF Peter, Yancey and Liz, and my bartender. 3/4 of that is possible and hopefully I’ll get to see Yancey and Liz sooner or later.

THURSDAY

A slice of pizza from Whole Foods, which I never knew they could reheat, and champagne with my work mom.

IMG_2146

She was super serious.

IMG_2153

IMG_2159

 

FRIDAY

Continued the painting by painting the hallway, and my nails

IMG_2174

Echi Sushi in West Hollywood per Whitney and GiGi: salmon skin handroll, radish roll, & cucumber roll.

IMG_2183

Ice cream from Coolhaus to top it off

IMG_2185

Fireworks on their apartment rooftop

IMG_2189

Local L.A. beer: Golden Road

IMG_2187

 

SATURDAY

I made the guys go on a 4-mile morning walk.

IMG_2206

Stretching

IMG_2200

Andrew made turkey burger and egg scramble for us.

IMG_2207

Denton’s brunch:

IMG_2210

The Bungalow in Santa Monica – there was a line before opening and everyone was dressed alike. Men wore shorts, boat shoes, and short-sleeve button ups with patterns, women wore shorts and cut off shirts with wedges. Not kidding…

IMG_2217

IMG_2215

Despite that, the drinks were well priced and good.

Their famous sangria

IMG_2226

My new go-to drinks that my bartender will now need to make me: the Paloma, because I sent him this picture.

IMG_2220

*I also drank a Moscow Mule with Austin, another new love of my life!

College friends/friends for 8 years!

IMG_2247

IMG_2246

Andrew, me, and Denton

IMG_2245

Afterwards, I shared a slice of pizza with their friend Austin and had Bigg Chill Carbolite!

IMG_2232

Eat | See | Hear: “Jaws” at the Autry Museum

IMG_2242

With Austin & Bhanu.

IMG_2263

Half of this Big Naked Ahi Tuna from MOE Deli

IMG_2268

 

SUNDAY

Brunch at Greenleaf Chop Shop: the Cheap ‘N Easy, egg whites, turkey bacon, and aged cheddar in a whole wheat English muffin

IMG_2278

We headed to Cabazon for some shopping, but it was too hot so I wasn’t really into it.

We came back to the cool coast for a walk downtown. It was packed!

 IMG_2290

IMG_2293

I ordered myself the Sexy Roll, a riceless roll of course, from Sushi on Fire.

IMG_2287

My cousin ordered $150 worth of sashimi to share. Needless to say, we were perfectly full.

IMG_2284

How was your holiday weekend?

Have you been to L.A.? What are your go-to stops?

4 thoughts on “MIMM: Almost My Birthday L.A. (& SoCal) Weekend

  1. Pingback: Homemade Strawberry Jam [& August Goals] | Julie Goes Healthy

Leave a Reply

