Thinking Out Loud Thursday: Staycation & a Realization

Thinking-Out-Loud

This week is packed! I’ll be at school until 7 or 8 today because I volunteered for the World’s Fair. I did it last year and loved it!

Today marks the second to last day of student teaching. Super excited.

Tuesday was magical. My friend was in town so we met up in Downtown Huntington Beach. Had I seen this article beforehand, I would’ve been more prepared for all the happy hours.

It made for a great excuse for a staycation at the 4-star Shorebreak Hotel for super cheap.
IMG_0772

 Lobby

IMG_0794

Second floor firepit area

IMG_0778

Complimentary wine hour from 5-6 P.M.

IMG_0782

I brought some beers from the leftover Cinco de Mayo party and a bottle from The Bruery.

IMG_0788

IMG_0806

I headed their rooftop restaurant, Zimzala, for happy hour.

IMG_0796

Firestone Walker 805

IMG_0798

We then spent the evening enjoying the Tuesday night street fair, guacamole and margaritas, and a super greasy grilled cheese or the parts of it I could stomach.

Oh and I made a friend while downtown who I’m hanging out with on Sunday maybe. 🙂

I also DID NOT see any of my students! 🙂

I was able to head to work down the street right afterwards. My stomach was definitely hurting from the drinks and greasy grilled cheese.

The remedy: a nap and a workout. I did Fitnessista’s HIIT Scorcher with some jump roping, which I hate but am getting better at, and then ended with about 15 minutes of yoga stretch.

IMG_0805

Real food: Shirataki noodles with chicken and veggies in tomato sauce.

IMG_0809

Reflecting on Tuesday’s events and then seeing this post from a friend was an eye opener. Kind of. It was more of a firm kick in the butt.

IMG_0801

Lately, I’ve met a lot of people guys. I’m not sure if this is the right forum to even talk about it, but here goes my Thinking Out Loud Thursday rant.

I’ve also been seeing someone for 6 weeks and if you know me in person, you’d know I’ve never dated anyone for very long (6 months max). Even at the rate of seeing this guy once per week for 6 weeks, I’m sick of him already. Yikes. I don’t always get sick of people so quickly either, but there are some quirks that bug me.

I know this is terrible to say as well, but there are people that I meet that I can say look like a relationship type of person. I’ve never dated anyone like that. Let’s be raw, I date what my former roommate and friends have called “gangster white guys.” They’re too ghetto for me and I know it. This is the situation right now… again.

My tastes are changing and what I liked in my early twenties isn’t the same anymore. I like them articulate, witty, and have close friends and family. So far, lately, 3 of the 4 people I meet fit the bill, but I’m seeing that one guy who doesn’t. That’s changing and by that I mean, peace out. Now I just have to end it.

Leave a Reply

