Spill It Sundays: Book & Body

I’m really excited about some posts I’m writing this week. First though, I want to link up with Arman from the Big Man’s World for Spill It, Sunday… because it’s about books this week!

Spill-it-Sunday-option-2-11. Favourite novel of all time?

Oh tough question. I’m always in love with the last book I read, which was Blackberry Winter.

Eat Pray Love was amazing, and I hurried to the theater to watch the movie. By myself. But it sucked. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

2. Favourite genre?

Autobiographies: Waiting for Snow in Havana

Fiction: Sarah Jio

Wicked… this isn’t indicative of the books I typically enjoy.

John Steinbeck – I consider Steinbeckย historical fiction. I love how he takes readers back in time and places us in the Depression Era in central California. Steinbeck was the only author I enjoyed in high school for his vivid details and honestly, he was just easier to understand than any other author we were forced to read.

3. Favourite childhood novel/teen novel?

The Babysitters’ Club, which also has this amazing movie. I think my favorite books are those with fantastic movies too.

The Ear, The Eye, & the Arm, which I actually read in college for a middle school ‘geography’ teaching class. I’ve read the book twice!

Nicholas Sparks, especially A Walk to Remember, which I read in 6 hours. His other books blend together, but I spent a lot of high school reading his books. Also, my favorite movie rendition.

4. Favourite series?

Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants and it was cast so perfectly.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

5. Which book would you hope future generations will continue to consider a classic?

I agree with Arman on Harry Potter. I stopped reading about book 5, but these are the best books. Yes, there have been other series. However, this changed the world. I don’t believe another book series will get people to read, stand outside movie theaters, dress up, and develop a theme park to the extent that this series did. And it all happened in my childhood. ๐Ÿ™‚

6. Worst novel to be written?

Arman picked my childhood favorite. I haven’t read Twilight, but I have no interest in reading them.

The selfie: No boobs and a lot of thigh. This body kills it in hiking, lifting, yoga, and running if I wanted to but I don’t.

I took this to reassure myself I’m not a cow. I saw a picture of myself and ugh, I looked fat!

I work out, eat ‘right’ although that’s up in the air according to this post, and am recovered/recovering from some major ED.

IMG_3381

Stayed tuned for the story of this and a few other pictures this week!

9 thoughts on “Spill It Sundays: Book & Body

  1. I have never read Eat, Pray, Love, but my mom did, and while I think she enjoyed it, she did mention that the author seemed a bit self-preoccupied…I suppose I’ll have to read it sometime and see if that is true! Though I’ve never read Wicked, I did watch the musical once at some theater, and it was amazing!! The songs are fantastic. I read Steinbeck’s book The Grapes of Wrath, and it was a wonderful and detailed book–I completely agree that he has the ability to take his readers back in time. His characters were nicely developed as well. I’ve never read any of Nicholas Spark’s books, but I have a feeling I would find them to be WAY too cheesy and sappy ๐Ÿ˜‰ I did read The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series, and actually enjoyed it, even though I don’t always like those type of books. The movies weren’t as good as the books, though, in my opinion. I agree that Harry Potter is a fantastic books series, but I think you definitely need to read books 6 and 7–they are great! Please don’t feel the need to ever read the Twilight series–I read all of the books just to find out what happened in the end, but I hated the fact that almost none of the characters had any personality whatsoever. It was rather dreadful, and meant that I really didn’t develop any attachment to any of them. I know you’ll probably deny this, but I don’t think you look “fat” at all in this picture. You look strong and powerful, and that is SO much more important than being skinny ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you have a wonderful day!

    • Thanks! The picture was taken after seeing a picture of myself that wasn’t so flattering. I haven’t had those moments in a long time so it was upsetting.

      I think I agree with you on the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants movies. One day I will get to Harry Potter 6-7; I just got stuck on #5. And the Nicholas Sparks books are too sappy – I read them all in high school! My tastes have changed since then.

  2. I loved the babysitter club when was younger! Never seen the movie though.

    Harry Potter is certainly the best!!!

    I’ve seen a bit of the movie version of Eat, Pray, Love and didn’t like it much so I haven’t seen the book. But if it’s one of your favorites, I guess it wouldn’t hurt to check it out. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. I met Elizabeth Gilbert this summer!!! Such a great book. Did you read the last book in the Traveling Pants series? I just found it recently and wow was it different. And oh my gosh, I completely forgot about The Ear, the Eye, and the Arm – I definitely owned that book!

Leave a Reply

