WIAW: My relationship (with food)

Well, this is an uneventful WIAW because I haven’t eaten very much. No, I’m not sick. I mentioned Intermittent Fasting (IF) on Monday. I didn’t do it on purpose, but I just wasn’t hungry or I was tired or I slept in and there was 16-19 hours of no food. This isn’t a big deal when you factor in the sleep I got this weekend. Heaven!

Anyways, I kind of liked it. I wasn’t concerned about food and instead focused on other things.

Don’t get me wrong, I love food and I know a lot about it…

image

In many ways, I recovered from anorexia/exercise bulimia with orthorexia. I don’t eat white rice or noodles, French fries or any fried food, and I don’t eat crappy bread. I also eat meals out of glass containers. Guys, this is a little weird to my friends! I love to eat, but I’m too picky. I must always have food ready. I’m more obsessed with food now then I was obese.

So this week, I meal prepped for the sake of meal prepping, but I didn’t bring my breakfast or lunch to work although I was hungry and walked the 5 minutes home to heat it up and eat.

Spaghetti squash with bacon and marinara

image_3

I drank half of Trader Joe’s Very Green on the way to work. Had the other half the night before.

image_4

I went back to work, which was fantastic. I was present not concerned about food or reading and had fun! Afterwards, I saw that a new ice cream shop had opened nearby. AFTERS reminds me of San Francisco. They have flavors like milk & cereal, PB&J, Vietnamese coffee, and cookie monster, which I shared with my little cousin.

image_5

I took a nap. I was so ridiculously tired that I fell asleep immediately.

After my nap, I went to Whole Foods with my cousin where they were sampling guac, some chicken, nut brittle, wine, cake, and salami/cheese. I ate it all and then microwaved some cottage cheese (+ 1 egg white and 1/4 c. oat flour) when I came home. Then I was full.

One of the things I was concerned most about was bloating. Well, less frequent eating means less chances of bloating. Thus far, I’ve yet to experience uncomfortable bloating at all! Note: sometimes my stomach feels terrible eating vegetables, chicken or tuna or anything even if I felt fine eating it the day before.

Now to the important things, homework or read a book, watch “Pretty Little Liars,” and rejoice in befriending someone who I met in person on Facebook. Don’t ask but this is a great week for it to have happened. 🙂

I’ve done some reading about IF and am not going to be strict. Rather, I’m taking away a few points:

  • I will survive if I don’t eat every 3 hours. I also won’t be hungry every 3 hours.
  • I like eating bigger meals because it’s filling.
  • Because I’m satisfied, I am less likely to go back and pick through the fridge.

Okay, now tell me which spoons you like more? The difference is in the handle.

Horizontal lines…

image_1

Or… not sure what this is, but it has little round dents?

image

What are your thoughts on a healthy relationship with food?

Have you struggled with food or working out?

5 thoughts on “WIAW: My relationship (with food)

  1. Some days I’m still obsessive about food but I’m working on it. I’m still figuring out which foods make me bloat or uncomfortable and avoiding these had done wonders for my body love.

    Also, I like the set with horizontal stripes!

  2. I often end up doing accidental intermittent fasting between Saturday and Sunday. Tend to sleep in on Sundays and then do lots of household chores (and like to get them out of the way before sitting down to a meal, otherwise I won’t finish them…..), so by the time I either eat at home or meet a friend for brunch it’s often past lunchtime…. But like you I see it as a positive though, it’s something that would’ve never happened ‘naturally’ when I was always obsessing about food!

  3. I realized that within the past year I had unintentionally fallen into IF habits, too. It’s actually really helped me to eat more nutrient-dense foods. I basically eat within an 8 hour window with two large meals and one or two small snacks, depending on how hungry I am that day or my activity level.

Leave a Reply

