MIMM: Unintentional Intermittent Fasting on Good Food

This is completely unintentional, but I may have started Intermittent Fasting. If you don’t know what that is, go here, here, or here.

I watched this video for info and the eye candy. 🙂

In any case, it’s fasting for long periods of time, like up to 24 hours! What?! I eat 6 meals a day. Well, here’s what I’ve liked about it:

  • I control my hunger. Yes, I get hungry, but I deal with it. I know this sounds weird to like the feeling.
  • Less complication because I only eat like 2 meals so this makes it easy to cook.
  • Less variation. One of the things that gets me in trouble is grazing. I love food and want to try it all. Have you gone to a Costco sampling? I eat everything even if I don’t like it because it’s “just a morsel.”
  • Less picking or snacking.
  • I’m not focused on food all the time, and making sure I get in my meals. I don’t get pissed off when I don’t eat on time. I don’t have to log all my meals either.

Friday

7 AM – breakfast of a perfect protein pancake in a mug and applesauce

8:30-9:30 AM – brutal kettlebell workouts

10:30 AM – snacked on a Quest bar

12:30 PM – lunch of chicken and broc slaw

1:15-2:30 PM – walked

2:45 PM – coffee, black

4:30 PM – 1/2 cauli pizza, 1/2 a bag of edamame

Saturday

9:45-10:30 AM – workout

11:30 AM – Urban Pie pizza 19 hours fasted

6 PM – Quest bar and some chocolate

Sunday

10:30-11:30 AM – yoga

2 PM – egg whites, carnitas, veggies, guac, small gelato 20 hours fasted

3-4 PM – leisure walk

8:30-9:30 PM – all you can eat Korean BBQ

It just looks simpler, and it’s something I’m willing to try to aid in my digestion – eating more often means more times my stomach feels bad.

Alright, and now for a MARVELOUS day off. By the time you read this, I will have hopefully taken our winter blankets to get washed, cleaned up my things in storage, and gotten ample amount of rest.

I finally tried Urban Pie‘s MARVELOUS pizza. They’re a local company that caters but was also at the farmer’s market with their portable oven.

image_2

What? You don’t buy yourself $9 bars of chocolate? Happy Valentine’s Day to me!
image_4

Also picked up this for my doughnut-loving friend – a MARVELOUS black velvet donut from Sidecar Doughnuts, the best ever!

image_7

On Saturday, after yoga, my friends Andrew and Denton arrived. We started with coffee at my new favorite shop, MARVELOUS Sit Stay Cafe. The shop is tucked in a track of homes near downtown.

IMG_3034

We drove around Huntington Beach and ended up at 3-Thirty-3 Waterfront for lunch at around 2.

IMG_3035

I went with the MARVELOUS build-your-own breakfast burrito with guac on the side. I added egg whites, carnitas, onions/tomatoes/lettuce/peppers, and omitted cheese and the tortilla.

IMG_3039

We then went for a leisurely walk to the Huntington Beach pier for roughly 45 minutes and got some MARVELOUS local gelato from Mangiamo’s (this one’s for you Arman!)

IMG_3050

It was a little cold, but everyone was out laying around, surfing, riding bikes, and playing the drums.

IMG_3049

Andrew & Denton left for home and I went home, full. Then I got called about Sunday dinner with my family. I didn’t want to go and tried to get out of it. This didn’t work and we went to Gen Korean BBQ. All you can eat BBQ and a lot of it. The food was MARVELOUS and I came out smelling of it. I was full, but surprisingly not dying.

Have you ever unexpectedly tried something and liked it?

What did you eat this weekend?

How’s the weather where you are?

2 thoughts on “MIMM: Unintentional Intermittent Fasting on Good Food

  1. I ate some good food this weekend – but nothing compared to your meals. I mean that pizza looks unreal 🙂

    $9.00 for a candy bar? I see no problem w/ that whatsoever. Have you ever had a Rightelously Raw Bar? There amazing!!!

  2. Pingback: WIAW: My relationship (with food) | Julie Goes Healthy

Leave a Reply

