Five Favorite Things Friday: Slow down

five-things-friday

Happy Friday! This was an exciting week and I felt accomplished though I hoped to get a little more done. January has started off pretty busy, especially returning from the holidays, so I’m taking this 3-day weekend to slow down again.

Five reasons this week was exciting

I worked everyday this week, and it was a glorious, fun week. Next week though, the students have finals so teachers may not need a sub.

I also got to see some of my favorites. I want to have kids only so I can name them after my students: Max, Ruben, Shawn, and Aron… though I’m not fans of Ruben or Aron and am not sure how “Ruben” would work unless I adopted.

We bought a house. I haven’t seen it in person. It’s a 2-bedroom, 1-bath townhome.

We’re getting our house inspected. I’ll take pictures and share when I finally get to see it tomorrow!

I have no plans this weekend. I turned down hanging out this weekend. I want some alone time to relax. Friends are sometimes stressful – planning, agreeing, getting dressed up – though they shouldn’t be huh? I may hang out with Peter (friend of 20 years) but that’s always easy.

Five foods I want to make and eat

I thought I was over pumpkin anything till this…

Recipes from my new book, Primal Cravings. Yeah, I bought it.

My amazing friend made a ton of their recipes too:

Butternut squash lasagna

Strawberry shortcake waffle

Devil’s food snack cake

Cuban burger

…and The Globe will be in my new hometown abet a little far, but I want to try it! Not only do they focus on one country for their prix fixe menu per month, they also have lots of beer. Heck yeah.

Five to-dos over the long weekend

Homework. 😦 I finished reading for next week so I can complete the threaded discussion and get along with the other assignments. This professor is not quite involved and gave me 100% on an assignment I turned in 2 hours later. I’m not complaining or anything – I’m acknowledging that I don’t need to work as hard.

Eat Urban Pie pizza. Finally. They are a mobile, brick-oven pizza vendor that serves up fun combinations made with fresh ingredients.

Then head to Ikea to scope out some accessories and this cart for the kitchen. I’m 1000% sure I’ve posted this before…

Go to TJ Maxx to scope out dinnerware and flatware, etcetera.

Finally go hiking at Mecca Hills/Painted Canyons, even if it’s by myself but hopefully not.

Five Six great, informative articles

20 reasons to move to Spain right now

Why we crave peanut butter, as I sit here eating apple and PB. 🙂

What city should you actually live in? I got Portland, even after changing around my iffy answers. My friend, the international traveler, got Cape Town, and my literature friend should live in London. This is pretty accurate.

What is starvation mode?

Symptoms of metabolic damage

Does anyone else have a 3-day weekend?

Any good links to share this week?

9 thoughts on “Five Favorite Things Friday: Slow down

  1. Hey Julie! I actually have a 4 day weekend! yay! and will be travelling to SC to enjoy it there.
    and a house!!! How exciting! Your weekend sound fun as well hitting up a couple of my favorite places TJMAXX and Ikea!

    • I ended up going to 4 TJ Maxx stores to peruse their offerings and I have plans to go to a Marshall’s. Is shopping exercise because I was so tired from it yesterday that I didn’t go and we went to look at consignment stores for furniture today and now I need a nap.

  2. That cart is SO SO cute. I adore the color! I can see it looking great with a yellow vase on top!
    I think it’s awesome that you have students you love having so much! I always got the impression from subs that they really didn’t like to be around any of us and were only subs because they couldn’t do anything else. You sound like a passionate and friendly sub!
    YOU BOUGHT A HOUSE?! Can’t wait to see pics when it’s set up!

    • Caitlin, it depends. We get a lot of retirees or people who can’t find another job, but I’m in the process of looking for a full-time position so I actually want to teach and savor everyday in the classroom.

      Thanks for the recommendation too!

  3. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished
    to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts.

    After all I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write
    again soon!

Leave a Reply

