1st Social Sunday and back to life!

Sunday Social
Speaking of being social, I actually got out of the house today! Woohoo! My neck wasn’t stiff when I woke up and after breakfast, I biked to the gym.

I tried a set of 10 kettlebell dumbbell snatch lunges, single leg deadlifts, and Bulgarian split squats before getting sweaty in yoga. Chaturangas happened!

Onto this week’s questions:

  1. What do you miss most about being a kid? Playing outside with the neighborhood kids and enjoying it.
  2. Did you have a nickname growing up? What was it? Julie Boolie was given to me by my Spanish teacher. My family also called me by my first and middle name: Julie Ann.
  3. What was your favorite thing to do at recess? When I was young, I liked to play basketball while the girls jumped rope.
  4. What did you want to be when you grew up? I wanted to be a basketball commentator.
  5. What was your favorite toy? I had almost 20 Barbies and a suitcase filled with clothing.
  6. What is the funniest thing you did as a kid that your parents still remind you about? My parents don’t have any fun stories.

While I’m at work, I found a few articles to consume yourself into:

What do you remember most from your childhood?

    What’s for dinner?: My own "survive on $35"

    I mentioned that I’m budgeting. So far, so good. I’m sticking to $100 per week.

    I have $40-50 for gas, which will vary depending on my needs.

    $35 goes towards food. I never thought I spent that much but after looking at what I buy at $35, I realized I go far beyond. I might even go 1.5-2xs this budget.

    Does the $35 look like a familiar number? The number is based off of FitFluential’s Survive on 35 challenge. $35 is just about the amount given to those on food stamps, and it is actually pretty reasonable for one person. However, for a single lady, it’s tough without the things I already had on hand.

    The leftover is either saved, hopefully.

    As for bills (loans, credit card, car insurance, cell phone), I will use my paychecks from my nighttime job. The paycheck from my morning job will be used for the $100 per week and then saved. On average, I should be able to save a huge chunk.

    Already on hand

    • Rotisserie chicken breasts
    • Avocados
    • Laughing Cow light Swiss cheese
    • Sonoma tortillas (1)
    • Chile lime chicken burgers (2)
    • Cauliflower
    • Eggs
    • Salsa
    • Peanut butter
    • Hemp waffles (2)

    Trader Joe’s

    • Vanilla cake mix – $2.49
    • Canned pumpkin – $1.99
    • Pink Lady apple – $0.69
    • String cheese – $3.99
    • Power to the Greens x 2 – $3.98

    Mother’s

    • Oat flour – $3.49 

    Ralph’s

    • Designer’s Whey protein powder – $13.39

    Target

    • Cottage cheese x 2 – $5.28

    Total: $35.30 + tax (on protein only)

    Monday
    m1 Nature’s Path hemp waffle + 2 egg whites
    m2 chicken salad
    m3 apple, string cheese
    m4 (at work)
    m5 [Trader Joe’s pumpkin Greek yogurt]

    Tuesday
    m1 hemp waffle + 2 egg whites
    m2 chicken salad
    m3 apple, string cheese
    m4 tuna with cauliflower rice
    m5 KIND bar

    Wednesday
    m1 oatmeal protein pancake
    m2 chicken salad
    m3 apple, string cheese
    m4 tuna nori roll
    m5 pumpkin cheesecake mousse

    Thursday
    m1 sweet potato protein pancake
    m2 chicken & garbanzo bean salad
    m3 apple, string cheese
    m4 tuna nori roll
    m5 pumpkin cheesecake mousse

    Friday
    m1 oatmeal protein pancake
    m2 chicken & garbanzo bean salad*
    m3 apple, string cheese
    m4 chile lime chicken burger
    m5 kind bar

    Saturday
    m1 oatmeal protein pancake
    m2 chile lime chicken burger lettuce wrap
    m3 apple, string cheese
    m4 shrimp spring rolls + sweet potato
    m5 pumpkin cheesecake mousse

    Sunday
    m1 oatmeal protein pancakes
    m2 chicken wrap + salad
    m3 KIND bar
    m4 shrimp spring rolls + sweet potato
    m5 pumpkin cheesecake mousse

    Workouts
    Monday – TurboKick
    Tuesday – athletic training class
    Wednesday – yoga
    Thursday – strength, class
    Friday – strength
    Saturday – TurboKick, Zumba
    Sunday – yoga

    *I add in strength training before some of the classes.

    How much do you spend on groceries per week? How many people do you feed?

    Day in the life of a girl with an injury

    Friday and Saturday off. Sounds like a dream, but its been torture too. I haven’t worked out and the kink in my neck is pretty darn painful. It is getting better and I’m excited to return to some more intense workouts tomorrow.

    Oatmeal protein pancakes with yummy pancake syrup. I smelled like pancake syrup all morning; it was glorious.

    Fancy lunch with a salad with cauliflower, carrots, and some salsa.

    Inside that tortilla? Laughing Cow garlic and herb wedge, avocado, and chicken.

    My favorite gummy bears!

    Part of what my budgeting will look like: saving receipts.

    Plans of a person who is injured:

    • Spend the first 20 minutes awake with a hot pad on my neck.
    • Do this 20 minute at-home circuit. It doesn’t have much neck movement and got my heart rate up.
    • Eat breakfast. This is the only meal I write about…
    • Meal plan.
    • Ride bike to bank.
    • Study chapter 11 of 12.
    • Read Life of Pi
    • Watch “Pretty Little Liars.” I’ve already watched 8 episodes! If you haven’t watched it, you need to start!

    I’ve finished the whole first season now, and I’m in love with this guy: Caleb played by Tyler Blackburn. Of course, he plays the bad boy with a big heart. Swoon!

    (source)

     
    (source)

    Have you watched “Pretty Little Liars?”
    How do you handle forced days off? Sometimes I’m okay then I get upset that I’ve done nothing all day.